• Last modified 2742 days ago (Dec. 16, 2010)


December 27, 2000

The second annual “Christmas on Us!” holiday promotion was an unqualified success. Grand prizewinner, Jack Hett of Marion, was awarded first prize of $1,000. The $500 second place award went to Sarah Crofoot of Marion. Stuart Funk of Florence received the third prize of $250.

Only the stucco walls are left standing at the corner of Locust and Lawrence, Marion, after the Brice Goebel home was devastated by a Christmas Eve fire.

Michael L. Keffeler, 50, convicted of 1977 murders of Dennis and Evelyn Armstrong, east of Tampa, will meet with the parole board at the Hutchinson Correctional Facility in January to request that he be released from prison in February.

Kelley Hett graduated summa cum laude Dec. 17 at Wichita State University, earning a bachelor’s degree in elementary education with early childhood endorsement. She is the daughter of Mary Ann and Keith Conyers and Steve and Barb Hett, all of Marion.

Eight Marion County residents have been selected to participate in Leadership Marion County Class of 2001. They are David Brazil, Durham, Brenda Conyers, Marion, Anita Goertzen, Goessel, Myrna Hamm, Tampa, Amy Helmer, Marion, Becky Nuss, Hillsboro, Sandra Svoboda, Ramona, and Glenda Wodke, Hillsboro.

Last modified Dec. 16, 2010